» YALSA Blog”>Tweet

It’s very important for divisional representatives to be on ALA Council and involved in Association decision-making. The youth divisions present a united front for promoting youth services in ALA, but there need to be youth division members on the ballot in order to do so. YALSA members have always been involved and need to continue to be so. Please consider nominating someone. Self-nominations are strongly encouraged.


The ALA 2007 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2007 spring ballot for the offices of ALA President-elect, ALA Treasurer and Councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for President-elect, two candidates to run for Treasurer and no fewer than 50 candidates for the 33 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2007 spring election.

The President-elect will serve a three-year term: as President-elect in 2007-2008, as President in 2008-2009, and as Immediate Past President in 2009-2010.

The Treasurer and Councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2007 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2010 Annual Conference.

The ALA President, Treasurer and Councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; fax; and e-mail address. Self-nominations are encouraged. All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at https://cs.ala.org/potentialcandidates/ Nominations and forms must be received no later than September 1, 2006.

Nominations may be sent to me at:
C. Allen Nichols,
Library Director,
Wadsworth Public Library,
132 Broad Street,
Wadsworth, OH 44281-1897.
E-mail: allen@wadsworthlibrary.com

To encourage diversity and leadership development, the Committee will refrain from nominating any current Councilors for election to another term. However, the Committee encourages all current Councilors who wish to continue their service to the Association to file as petition candidates. Petitions will be available from Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council Secretariat, ALA, 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Email: lgregory@ala.org, or during the 2006 Annual Conference or 2007 Midwinter Meeting. Petitions require 25 signatures for names to be included on the 2007 ballot.

Posted by C. Allen Nichols – ALA Nominations Committee Member and YALSA Board Member

Comments are closed.

Post Navigation