On Monday Jan. 22, 2007, YALSA announced the winners of the 2007 Alex, Edwards and Printz Awards. Please share the accompanying press release with your local paper to help spread the word. You may also consider writing a letter to the editor or a press release of your own describing how your library will be celebrating these winning books with programs, displays, contests etc.
Please also consider adding a link to the awards on your or your library’s web site, blog or MySpace space. The short URL for the awards and selected list page is www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists.
Don’t forget that this year ALA Graphics is also selling posters featuring the 2007 Printz winner and honor books. Pre-order yours now for delivery by March. All proceeds go to support the work of ALA and YALSA.

-Beth Yoke

For Immediate Release
Jan. 24, 2007
Contact: Nichole Gilbert, 1.800.545.2433 x4387, YALSA 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611
CHICAGO–At the American Library Association’s (ALA) Midwinter Meeting the Young Adult Library Services Association, the fastest growing division of ALA, announced the winners of their 2007 awards: the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in young adult literature, the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lasting and significant contribution to young adult literature, and the Alex Awards for the best adult books with teen appeal. The Printz and Edwards awards are significant because they are the only national awards solely for young adult literature.

“In a time when nearly 3,000 books are published each year just for teens it is important that we recognize the best,” remarked YALSA President Judy Nelson. “These awards help parents, caregivers, educators and teens identify books that are compelling reads.”

YALSA’s Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults went to “American Born Chinese” by Gene Luen Yang. Yang draws from American pop culture and ancient Chinese mythology in this groundbreaking work. Expertly told in words and pictures, Yang’s story in three parts follows a Chinese American teenager’s struggle to define himself against racial stereotypes. “American Born Chinese” is the first graphic novel to receive the Michael L. Printz Award. Yang, who began drawing comics in the fifth grade, is a high school teacher in the San Francisco Bay area. “American Born Chinese” is published by First Second, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership. Four Printz Honor Books were named: “The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party” by M. T. Anderson, published by Candlewick; “An Abundance of Katherines” by John Green, published by Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Group

(USA), Inc.; “Surrender” by Sonya Hartnett, published by Candlewick Press; and “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak, published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books. The Michael L. Printz Award is selected by a special YALSA committee and is sponsored by Booklist magazine. It has been administered annually by YALSA since 2000.

YALSA’s Margaret A. Edwards Award for lasting and significant contribution to writing for young adults was awarded to Lois Lowry for her book the “The Giver.” “The Giver” is published by Walter Lorraine Books/Houghton Mifflin Company. “‘The Giver’ is a timeless classic with widespread teen appeal,” said Edwards Committee Chair Mary Hastler. “Lowry’s complex and provocative novel, translated into 22 languages, remains infinitely discussable.” Published in 1993, “The Giver” continues to provide a mechanism for teens to understand themselves, the world in which they live and their relationships with others and with society. The Margaret Edwards Award is selected by a special YALSA committee and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It has been administered annually by YALSA since 1988.

YALSA’s Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences went to:

  • “The Book of Lost Things,” written by John Connolly and published by Simon & Schuster/Atria
  • “The Whistling Season,” written by Ivan Doig and published by Harcourt
  • “Eagle Blue: A Team, A Tribe, and A High School Basketball Season in Arctic Alaska,” written by Michael D’Orso and published by Bloomsbury
  • “Water for Elephants,” written by Sara Gruen and published by Algonquin
  • “Color of the Sea,” written by John Hamamura and published by Thomas Dunne
  • “The Floor of the Sky,” written by Pamela Carter Joern and published by the University of Nebraska
  • “The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game” written by Michael Lewis and published by Norton
  • “Black Swan Green,” written by David Mitchell and published by Random House
  • “The World Made Straight,” written by Ron Rash and published by Henry Holt
  • “The Thirteenth Tale,” written by Diane Setterfield and published by Simon & Schuster/Atria

The Alex Award is selected by a special YALSA committee and is sponsored by the Margaret A. Edwards Trust and Booklist magazine. It has been administered annually by YALSA since 2002.

Each of the award winners and honorees will be honored at ALA’s Annual Conference in Washington DC, June 21-27, 2007. For 50 years YALSA, a nonprofit organization comprised of librarians, educators and library supporters, has been the world leader in selecting books, films, and audiobooks for teens. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing, and listening go to www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists. For additional information contact the YALSA office at 800-545-2433, ext. 4390; or e-mail yalsa@ala.org.

2 Thoughts on “Help Spread the Word about YALSA’s Awards

  1. Krista [Visitor] on January 24, 2007 at 4:22 pm said:

    Where is the list for the Great Graphic Novels for Teens? I’ve been checking frequently but it hasn’t been published yet.

  2. Linda Braun [Visitor] on January 25, 2007 at 11:38 am said:

    The graphic novels list should be coming out sometime today.

Post Navigation