Since the announcement that the 2008 recipient of YALSA’s Margaret A. Edwards Award is Orson Scott Card for his novels ‘Ender’s Shadow’ and ‘Ender’s Game,’ YALSA has received feedback that has made it clear additional clarification of the criteria and terms of this award are necessary. I’ve provided a brief statement, that hopefully provides this clarification.

Thanks again to the 2008 Margaret A. Edwards Award Committee for their hard work!
Paula Brehm-Heeger
YALSA President, 2007-2008

About Paula Brehm Heeger

Past-President of YALSA (President, 2007-2008) and current member of the YALSA Board of Directors (2006-2009). Past YALSA Committee Chair positions include Partnerships Advocating for Teens (PAT), TAGS, Intellectual Freedom; Past ALSC Chair positions include Notable Children's Videos; Contributing author to upcoming "Quick and Popular Reads" (ALA Editions, forthcoming)

2 Thoughts on “Margaret A. Edwards Award

  1. Sorry for the heat you’re taking on this.

    It’s rough when many people *really like* an author’s books and/or writing style (and agree they’re worthy of an award) but the author holds a set of beliefs with which many people *really strongly disagree* on certain subjects.

    Here’s hoping the brouhaha doesn’t unjustly colour future awards deliberations.

  2. Lindsey [Visitor] on February 4, 2008 at 4:07 pm said:

    Thanks for posting this. You clarified a lot of questions people have.

Post Navigation