The votes are in! YALSA had 20% of its membership vote in this year’s election. The results are:

President-Elect: Kim Patton
Board of Directors: Sara Ryan and Stephanie Squicciarini
Councilor: Nick Buron
Margaret A. Edwards Committee: Amy Alessio, Robin Brenner, and Betsy Levine
Michael L. Printz Committee: Dr. Joni Richards Bodart, Jamie Watson, Melissa Rabey, and Erin Downey Howerton
YALSA Nonfiction Committee: Jeanette Larson, Don Latham, Mary Frances Long, and Monique Franklin

ALA election results are available online as well for president and council. Congratulations to all of our 2009 election winners.

About Stephanie Kuenn

Stephanie Kuenn is the communications specialist for YALSA, where she is responsible for YALSA's web content, publications, and media relations. She is currently pursuing an M.A. in library and information studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and holds an M.S. from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University and a B.A. in history and journalism from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She enjoys baking, watching sports, and reading. Her favorite book is "All the King's Men" by Robert Penn Warren.

One Thought on “YALSA Election Results

  1. Kelly on May 31, 2009 at 10:17 am said:

    I also wanted to point out that of the 34 councilors elected, 15 are members of AASL, ALSC and YALSA. AASL listed on their site who the youth division members are ( Also listed on the page is a category of ‘other youth division members’. Of those, six are YALSA members. Linda Braun’s comment ( on just voting in division elections because we might be familiar with that particular division but to also think about the importance of having youth focused members on ALA Council interested me to find out more about the results.

Post Navigation