You’ve probably heard about YALSA’s 2010 election slate, but did you know a whopping 14 YALSA members are running for ALA offices? It’s true!

Sarah Kelly Johns, Past President of the AASL and school library media specialist for grades 6-12 at Lake Placid (N.Y.)Middle/High School and’ Molly Raphael, Past President of LLAMA, and a past director of two large library systems (DC Public and Multnomah County), are candidates for ALA President. (Information updated February 13, 2010.)

For more information on the candidates for 2011-2012 ALA President, please see the ALA’ press release.)

Thirteen YALSA members are running for Councilor-at-Large:

Paula Brehm-Heeger
Thomas Brogan
Ann Crewdson
Kelly Czarnecki
Naphtali Lanette Faris
Janice Greenberg
Carla Land
Jessica Moyer
Robbie Leah Nickel
Elsworth Rockefeller
Doc Roth
Kevin Scanlon
Sylvia Vardell

These members have agreed to run and have had their names put forward by the ALA Nominating Committee. If you’re interested in running for Council you can still run as a petition candidate. Submit your petition by January 29th!

YALSA does not officially endorse any candidates for ALA office, but we do encourage you to get to know the candidates and vote. Your ALA membership must be current as of January 31st to vote in the election.

About mk Eagle

I'm the librarian at Holliston High School, a bit west of Boston. In my spare time I advise my school's yearbook and Gay Straight Alliance, write about food, and root for the Red Sox.

Comments are closed.

Post Navigation